CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR ACT
(Illinois Public Act 094-0741)
Law was in effect, January 01, 2007... Every dwelling must be equipped with a
carbon monoxide (CO) detector located within 15 feet of every room used for sleeping.
This law applies to every Illinois property owner (including personal residences)
that use fossil fuels (natural gas, wood, etc.) and/or have attached garages.
REMEMBER... To check and replace batteries
in CO and Smoke Detectors
(Over 90 percent of all CO Calls are from low or dead batteries)
A good habit to change batteries in Carbon Monoxide and Smoke Detectors each Spring and Fall when you change time on your clocks.
For more information on CO go to: www.cosafety.org
Get To Know Your Carbon Monoxide (CO) Detector
On January 1st, 2007, Public Act 094-0741 (carbon monoxide act) went into effect. This is required for every dwelling that uses fossil fuels like natural gas, propane, etc. or has an attached garage, to install a CO detector within 15 feet of every room used for sleeping. This also includes dwellings with multiple units, like apartments, to have one detector in every unit within 15 feet of every room used for sleeping. Most of you went out and purchased CO detectors to comply with this Public Act. Most of the units that were purchased in that timeframe will need to be replaced. Some manufactures installed an “end of life” warning beep in their units to let you know when to replace them and some did not. Please get familiar with your CO detector and find out what year and manufacturer you have. Read the manual and the back of the unit. If you are unsure when to replace the CO detector, call the manufacturer. The intent of this article is to have you check to make sure your CO detector is still working and has not exceeded it’s “end of life” date. If you do not have a detector and have an attached garage or use a fossil fuel, please get one now. CO detectors save lives. For more safety information visit www.kidde.com or www.firstalert.com.